Ocean circulation and its variations

Ocean currents can raise sea surface height by up to a metre higher over the surrounding area. Currents can therefore be mapped by measuring height variations. Satellite altimetry, supplying continuous worldwide observations, has been increasing our knowledge of the ocean circulation since the 1978 Seasat mission.

Sub-mesoscale circulation
A number of processes, especially concerning vertical exchanges in the upper-ocean occurs at "sub-mesoscale" (i.e. features less than 25 km in size (50 km in wavelength). Swot will provide with information at this scale.
Large-scale circulation
A view of the global ocean circulation shows currents swirling around the hills and valleys at the sea surface. In the Northern Hemisphere, currents flow around hills in a clockwise direction and in an anticlockwise direction (the opposite occurs in the Southern Hemisphere) around valleys. These currents form gyres on either side of the equator. Planetary waves are other large-scale phenomena.
Mesoscale circulation
The mesoscale circulation is defined like a class of energetic phenomena of spatial scales ranging from about ten to several hundred kilometers and time scales ranging from a few days to several months. Its forcing mechanisms are mainly instabilities from the large-scale circulation and interactions between currents and bathymetry and the direct forcing by the wind.
Operational oceanography
Describe and forecast the global ocean in real time and at any moment from satellites and in situ observations.
Tides
Ocean tides represent more than 80% of the variability of the surface in the open ocean. Satellite altimetry provides regular measurements of sea level in the middle of the ocean, which means that forecasting of tides has been improved.
Mean Sea Level, Greenhouse effect
As global temperatures rise, mean sea level is rising with them. Altimetry satellites are a crucial aid for observing variations in mean sea level and can confirm trends and attempt to mitigate their effects.
Seasons
The ocean is responding to the seasons, as the atmosphere. Just now, in May, it is beginning to warm in the Northern Hemisphere, and to cool in the Southern. The amplitude of the variations in sea level due to the seasons is one of Topex/Poseidon's discoveries. This shows the quantity of heat kept in stock in the ocean, and thus its impact on the climate.

La circulation océanique et ses variations

Depuis 1978 (satellite Seasat), l'altimétrie par satellite fait progresser l'étude de la circulation océanique, car elle permet une étude complète de celle-ci sur tous les océans, en permanence. Les courants sont repérables par altimétrie, la hauteur de mer étant plus élevée dans le courant (la différence avec la hauteur de mer hors du courant peut atteindre un mètre). On a pu ainsi tracer des cartes des courants, et de leurs variations pour toutes les mers.

  • Circulation sub-mésoéchelle

    Un certain nombre de processus océaniques ont des tailles typiques de l'ordre de 25 km, en particulier celles qui concernent le mélange vertical des eaux. Avec une capacité d'observation en deux dimension, une haute résolution, Swot fournira de l'information à ces échelles.

  • Circulation globale

    La circulation océanique globale est vue sous forme de creux et de bosses autour desquels s'enroulent les courants. Les courants tournent autour des bosses dans le sens des aiguilles d'une montre dans l'hémisphère nord, dans le sens opposé autour des creux (l'inverse se produisant dans l'hémisphère sud). Ils forment des boucles de part et d'autre de l'équateur. Un autre phénomène à grande échelle est représenté par les ondes planétaires.

  • Circulation méso-échelle

    La circulation mésoéchelle se définit comme une classe de phénomènes énergétiques d'échelles spatiales comprises entre quelques dizaines et quelques centaines de kilomètres et d'échelles temporelles comprises entre quelques jours et plusieurs mois. Ses mécanismes de forçage sont principalement les instabilités de la circulation générale et dans une moindre mesure l'interaction des courants avec la bathymétrie et le forçage direct par le vent.

     

  • Océanographie opérationnelle

    L'océanographie opérationnelle : décrire et prévoir en temps réel et à tout moment l'océan sur tout le globe à partir d'observations satellitales et in situ.

     

  • Marées

    Les marées océaniques représentent plus de 80% de la variabilité de la surface libre en plein océan. L'étude des marées a progressé grâce à l'altimétrie et à ses mesures globales et continues.

  • Niveau Moyen de la mer, Effet de serre

    Tous les indices le prouvent : le niveau moyen global des océans est en hausse. Cette élévation du niveau de la mer est une importante conséquence du réchauffement climatique. La couverture globale des satellites altimétriques permet de mesurer cette élévation.

  • Saisons

    Selon les saisons, l'océan change, au gré des vents, ou tout simplement de la température extérieure. Il se dilate quand il fait chaud, se contracte quand il fait plus froid, les courants se modifient selon la direction des vents dominants.