Doris, the space surveyor

Doris receiving antenna under the satellite. It receives signals from the terrestrial beacons network (its length is 42 cm). Credits Mira Productions.

The Doris system is a french civil precise orbit determination and positioning system. It is based on the principle of the Doppler effect with a transmitting terrestrial beacons network and onboard instruments on the satellite's payload (antenna, radio receiver and oscillateur ultra-stable).

Doris is one of three systems used for precise determination of the Jason-1 satellite's orbit. Several of these techniques are sometimes merged on the same satellite : Jason-1 satellite includes three tracking systems, Doris, location by GPS and laser telemetry. The Doris system perfectly corresponds to the specifications required for the ocean's topography observations and the amplitude of the observed phenomena: it is now enables to measure the satellite position on its orbit close to 1 cm. It is interesting to compare this precision with the precision obtained at the beginning of the space age, where the the satellite position was estimated close to 20 km then close to 20 meters in the 80's. Since 1998, the Diode navigator has added real-time measurement processing capability for satellite navigation.

The Doris system was designed by Cnes, the French space agency, in partnership with France's mapping and survey agency IGN and the space geodesy research institute GRGS. Since 2003, IDS is an international service which provides a support, through Doris data and products. The successive missions since Spot 2 and Topex/Poseidon have truly demonstrated its performance.

 

IDS Newsletters

The newsletter is published in color with live links on the IDS web site.

  • Press release, 2016: DORIS the space surveyor serving the ITRF
  • Leaflet 2015, "Doris, the space surveyor" (pdf, 6.8 Mb). Three kakemonos also exists (pdf, 4.5 MB)
  • Leaflet 2012, "Doris, a permanent evolving space technique for Earth sciences research" (pdf, 1.6 Mb). A poster also exists (pdf, 3.3 MB)
  • Dossier 2010 : Doris, the space surveyor (pdf, 6 Mo),  edited by Cnes and IGN at the occasion of the 20th anniversary of Doris in 2010.

Doris, le géomètre de l'espace

Antenne réceptrice Doris placée sous le satellite. Elle reçoit les signaux émis par le réseau de balises au sol (sa longueur hors tout est de 42 cm). Crédits Mira Productions.

Le système Doris est un système civil français d'orbitographie et de localisation précise. Ce système fonctionne sur le principe de l'effet Doppler entre un réseau de stations terrestres émettrices et des instruments à bord de la charge utile des satellites (antenne, récepteur radio et oscillateur ultra-stable).

Doris est une des techniques mise en oeuvre pour restituer la trajectoire du satellite sur son orbite. Plusieurs de ces techniques sont parfois combinées sur un même satellite : le satellite Jason-1 rassemble ainsi trois systèmes de localisation, Doris, localisation par GPS et par télémétrie laser. Le système Doris répond parfaitement aux spécifications requises pour l'observation des reliefs océaniques et l'ampleur des phénomènes observés : il est aujourd'hui capable de mesurer la position du satellite sur son orbite à 1 cm près. Il est intéressant de comparer cette précision avec celle obtenue au début de l'ère spatiale, où la position du satellite était connue à 20 kilomètres près puis à 20 mètres près dans les années 80. Depuis 1998, le navigateur Diode permet le calcul d'une orbite instantanée.

Le système a été conçu par le Cnes, en collaboration avec l'IGN et le Legos/GRGS. Depuis 2003, dans le cadre d'un service international, l'IDS assure un support au travers des données et produits Doris. Les missions successives depuis Spot 2 et Topex/Poséidon ont largement démontré ses performances.

 

Newsletter de l'IDS (en anglais)

La newsletter est disponible en couleur avec des liens actifs sur le site web de l'IDS.